Child luring through the web: what is it?

January 15th, 2021

If you are facing an allegation of child luring through the web, the first thing you should do is contact a lawyer who specializes in the defence of sex crimes. For defence in Ontario and Québec, We can be reached at 450-332-6511.

Allegations of using the internet to lure a child are taken very seriously by the justice system. If you are being investigated for or have been charged with child luring, it is normal for you to have many questions and concerns.

The first step to understanding the charges is to speak with a lawyer who has experience in dealing with child luring and other charges related to sex crimes. This area of the law is very specialized and it is important for you to work with a lawyer who can fully defend your legal rights and protect your future.

What is Child Luring?

Under the criminal code, Child Luring is defined as the use of telecommunication to communicate with a person he believes is under the age of 18 for the purpose of facilitating the commission of certain sexual offences with that person.

In layman’s terms, child luring through the web is when an adult uses the internet (such as a chat room, social media, e-mail, direct messaging, etc.) to get in touch with someone you think is a child younger than 18 years old to engage in a sexual offence.

Other terms that are sometimes used when referring to child luring include:

  • Online predators
  • Child grooming
  • Child exploitation

The sexual offences included under the definition of child luring are not limited to physical sexual actions. Someone can be charged with child luring if they engage in any of the following offences related to a person believed to be younger than 18 years old:

  1. Sexual exploitation
  2. Incest
  3. Possession of child pornography, accessing child pornography, making child pornography, make available, transmit or distribute child pornography section
  4. Parent or guardian procuring sexual activity
  5. Owner of premises permitting use by a person under 18 for an unlawful sexual purpose
  6. Procuring a benefit trafficking a person under the age of 18
  7. Obtaining sexual services from a person under 18 for consideration

In the case that the alleged victim is believed to be under the age of 16 years old, child luring offences are expanded to include:

  1. Sexual interference
  2. Invitation to sexual touching
  3. Bestiality in the presence of a person under 16
  4. An indecent act to a person under 16
  5. Sexual assault
  6. Abduction of a person under ages of 16 and 14

What proof is required for a child luring conviction?

The Crown Prosecutor will not be able to achieve a conviction in the case of child luring using the web unless they can prove all of the following elements:

  • Deliberate communication with the complainant via a computer
  • You knew or believed the person you were communicating with was less than 18 years of age or that you were reckless or intentionally did not realize that they were under the age of 18
  • You were communicating with this person for the purpose of committing at least one of the required offences listed above

It is very important that you build your defence by working with a lawyer who has experience in the defence of child luring cases. This specialized area is often beyond the capabilities of a law team that works in more general fields.

What are the penalties for child luring through the web?

The penalties for child luring can be quite severe, but a criminal defence lawyer with specialized knowledge of the laws around sexual crimes can potentially help you face lesser penalties. You may be more likely to be sentenced to the maximum penalties if you choose to make your defence without a lawyer or by working with a lawyer without experience in defending cases of child luring.

The penalties for child luring through the web vary according to the deemed severity of the offence. Imprisonment terms and other penalties are set differently depending on things such as:

  • The age or imitated age of the complainant
  • If you sent explicit images to the victim
  • The amount of grooming done by the offender
  • Communications that occurred over a long period of time
  • You attempted to arrange a meeting with the victim
  • Your meeting resulted in sexual assault or attempt
  • Your charges include the making of child pornography

What to do if you are facing allegations of child luring

If you are facing allegations of child luring, it’s imperative that you have a criminal defence lawyer who will advocate for your rights. The options and defences for anyone facing these charges can be complex and will not be easy for anyone who does not have experience. In order to receive the best possible outcome in your case, contact a lawyer with experience and success in the defence of sex crime charges such as child luring.

We have specialized knowledge in this area to keep you fully informed of your options. If you need to defend yourself on charges of child luring in Ontario or Quebec, contact Jean-François Chénard. Your first call is free, and most importantly, here, we believe you.

Le leurre d’enfants sur le Web: qu’est-ce que c’est?

15 janvier 2021

Si vous faites face à une allégation de leurre d’enfants sur le Web, la première chose à faire est de contacter un avocat spécialisé dans la défense des crimes sexuels. Pour la défense en Ontario et au Québec, nous sommes joignables au 450-332-6511.

Les allégations d’utilisation d’Internet pour attirer un enfant sont prises très au sérieux par le système judiciaire. Si vous faites l’objet d’une enquête ou avez été accusé de leurre d’enfants, il est normal que vous ayez de nombreuses questions et préoccupations.

La première étape pour comprendre les accusations est de parler à un avocat qui a de l’expérience en matière de leurre d’enfants et d’autres accusations liées aux crimes sexuels. Ce domaine du droit est très spécialisé et il est important pour vous de travailler avec un avocat capable de défendre pleinement vos droits légaux et de protéger votre avenir.

Qu’est-ce que le leurre d’enfants?

En vertu du Code pénal, le leurre d’enfants est défini comme l’utilisation des télécommunications pour communiquer avec une personne qui, selon lui, est âgée de moins de 18 ans dans le but de faciliter la commission de certaines infractions sexuelles avec cette personne.

En termes simples, un enfant qui est attiré via le Web, c’est lorsqu’un adulte utilise Internet (comme un salon de discussion, les médias sociaux, le courrier électronique, la messagerie directe, etc.) pour entrer en contact avec quelqu’un qu’il pense être un enfant de moins de 18 ans pour se livrer à une infraction sexuelle.

D’autres termes parfois utilisés pour désigner le leurre d’enfants comprennent:

  • prédateurs en ligne;
  • « grooming » des enfants ;
  • exploitation des enfants.

Les infractions sexuelles incluses dans la définition du leurre d’enfants ne se limitent pas aux actes sexuels physiques. Une personne peut être accusée de leurre d’enfants si elle se livre à l’une des infractions suivantes liées à une personne soupçonnée d’avoir moins de 18 ans:

  1. exploitation sexuelle;
  2. inceste;
  3. possession de pornographie juvénile, accès à la pornographie juvénile, production de pornographie juvénile, mise à disposition, transmission ou distribution de la section pornographie juvénile;
  4. parent ou tuteur procurant une activité sexuelle :
  5. Propriétaires de locaux permettant l’utilisation par une personne de moins de 18 ans à des fins sexuels;
  6. procurer un avantage à la traite d’une personne de moins de 18 ans;
  7. obtenir des services sexuels d’une personne de moins de 18 ans moyennant rétribution.

Dans le cas où l’on pense que la victime présumée est âgée de moins de 16 ans, les infractions de leurre d’enfants sont élargies pour inclure:

  • Interférence sexuelle;
  • Invitation aux contacts sexuels;
  • Bestialité en présence d’une personne de moins de 16 ans;
  • Acte indécent envers une personne de moins de 16 ans;
  • Aggression sexuelle;
  • Enlèvement d’une personne âgée de moins de 16 et 14 ans.

Quelle preuve est requise pour une condamnation pour leurre d’enfant?

Le procureur de la Couronne ne pourra pas obtenir de condamnation dans une affaire de leurre d’enfants en utilisant le Web à moins de pouvoir prouver tous les éléments suivants:

  • Communication délibérée avec le plaignant via un ordinateur;
  • Vous saviez ou croyiez que la personne avec laquelle vous communiquiez était âgée de moins de 18 ans ou que vous étiez imprudent ou que vous ne réalisiez pas intentionnellement qu’elle avait moins de 18 ans;
  • Vous communiquiez avec cette personne dans le but de commettre au moins une des infractions requises énumérées ci-dessus.

Il est très important que vous construisiez votre défense en travaillant avec un avocat qui a de l’expérience dans la défense des affaires de leurre d’enfants. Ce domaine spécialisé dépasse souvent les capacités d’une équipe juridique qui travaille dans des domaines plus généraux.

Quelles sont les sanctions en cas de leurre d’enfants sur le Web?

Les sanctions pour leurre d’enfants peuvent être assez sévères, mais un avocat de la défense pénale ayant une connaissance spécialisée des lois relatives aux crimes sexuels peut potentiellement vous aider à faire face à des peines moins sévères. Vous pourriez être plus susceptible d’être condamné aux peines maximales si vous choisissez de vous défendre sans avocat ou en travaillant avec un avocat sans expérience dans la défense des affaires de leurre d’enfants.

Les sanctions pour leurre d’enfants sur le Web varient en fonction de la gravité présumée de l’infraction. Les peines d’emprisonnement et autres peines sont fixées différemment selon des éléments tels que:

  • L’âge ou l’âge imité du plaignant;
  • Si vous avez envoyé des images explicites à la victime;
  • La quantité de toilettage effectuée par le délinquant;
  • Communications qui se sont produites sur une longue période;
  • Vous avez tenté d’organiser une rencontre avec la victime;
  • Votre réunion a donné lieu à une agression sexuelle ou à une tentative;
  • Vos frais incluent la réalisation de pornographie juvénile;
  • Que faire si vous faites face à des allégations de leurre d’enfants.

Si vous faites face à des allégations de leurre d’enfants, il est impératif que vous ayez un avocat de la défense pénale qui défendra vos droits. Les options et les moyens de défense pour quiconque fait face à ces accusations peuvent être complexes et ne seront pas faciles pour quiconque n’a pas d’expérience. Afin d’obtenir le meilleur résultat possible dans votre cas, contactez un avocat ayant l’expérience et des succès dans la défense d’accusations de crimes sexuels tels que le leurre d’enfants.

Nous possédons les connaissances spécialisées dans ce domaine pour vous tenir pleinement informé de vos options. Si vous avez besoin de vous défendre sur des accusations de leurre d’enfants en Ontario ou au Québec, communiquez avec Jean-François Chénard. Votre premier appel est gratuit, et surtout, ici, nous vous croyons.